101 things in 1001 days

01Jan09

The Mission:
Complete 101 preset tasks in a period of 1001 days.

The Criteria:
Tasks must be specific (ie. no ambiguity in the wording) with a result that is either measurable or clearly defined. Tasks must also be realistic and stretching (ie. represent some amount of work on my part).

Why 1001 Days?
Many people have created lists in the past – frequently simple goals such as New Year’s resolutions. The key to beating procrastination is to set a deadline that is realistic. 1001 Days (about 2.75 years) is a better period of time than a year, because it allows you several seasons to complete the tasks, which is better for organising and timing some tasks such as overseas trips or outdoor activities.

Some common goal setting tips:
1. Be decisive. Know exactly what you want, why you want it, and how you plan to achieve it.

2. Stay Focussed. Any goal requires sustained focus from beginning to end. Constantly evaluate your progress.

3. Welcome Failure. Frequently, very little is learned from a venture that did not experience failure in some form. Failure presents the opportunity to learn and makes the success more worthy.

4. Write down your goals. It clarifies your thinking and reinforces your commitment.

5. Keep your goals in sight. Review them frequently, and ensure that they are always at the forefront of your thinking.

Yes! So here is my 101 things in 1001 days :) Some I will save for university, and I reserve the right to change my goals if I don’t feel they suit me any more. Anyway, on to my things…

 

             HEALTH

  1. Cook 10 real meals for myself
  2. Find out blood type and donate blood (poss. subject to change)
  3. Drink something other than Coca-Cola for at least one week

     PERSONAL

  4. Establish and follow a morning routine – (face scrub, teeth, deodorant, etc.)
  5. Spend a whole day in a dress
  6. Go out somewhere wearing a skirt/dress without tights
  7. Read a book that makes me uncomfortable (OCD-wise)
  8. Kiss a boy
  9. Learn how to properly apply makeup
  10. Shave my legs every time I shower for at least a year
  11. Straighten my hair after drying it after a shower when I want it to be straight, rather than just saying, ‘Oh, I can’t be bothered’
  12. Identify 100 things that make me happy 
  13. Get my eyebrows/upper lip threaded when neccessary

     FREE TIME AND LEISURE

  14. Paint an oil canvas in my spare time
  15. Set up a serious photography shoot and take at least 20 really great photos
  16. Go to a New Year’s Eve party
  17. Hold a “house party”
  18. Go on a sailboat
  19. Watch at least 5 ‘new’ (for me) films a year, one of which to be a classic
  20. When my moleskine planner arrives, use it and write in it daily
  21. Wear different coloured nail varnish every day for a week
  22. Have a manicure
  23. Go to the zoo and take good photos 

     TRAVEL

  24. Visit New York
  25. Visit 2 other states in America
  26. Visit Ireland
  27. Spend a day doing the ‘tourist spots’ in London
  28. Go on a picnic with close friends in the height of summer in a huge public park
  29. Go on a holiday with friends
  30. Go on the London Eye
  31. Participate in Camp America (poss. subject to change depending on finances)

     EDUCATION AND OCCUPATION

  32. Go to  and graduate from university
  33. Write and have published an article for my university newspaper
  34. Join at least two university societies
  35. Pass my driving test
  36. Get a job

     BOOKS AND WRITING

  37. Read at least 20 ‘classics’
  38. Read at least 8 books from The Guardian List of 100 best books
  39. Read 5 Shakespeare plays
  40. Participate in, and complete at least 25,000 words of, NaNoWriMo 2009
  41. Read at least three philosophy books
  42. Give a sample of my writing to someone indifferent so I can get honest criticism
  43. Read three books of poetry
  44. Keep up with pen-pals
  45. Spend at least one week where I write every day

     THINGS TO OWN

  46. Get a MacBook
  47. Buy a piece of artwork
  48. Treat myself to a make-up ‘splurge’ of at least £50
  49. Treat myself to a book ‘splurge’ of at least £100
  50. Buy an expensive set of well-fitting nice underwear
  51. Buy a name-necklace
  52. Buy a new lens for my camera
  53. Get a new phone

     MISC, TO BE COMPLETED & SAVED FOR UNIVERSITY

  54.  
  55.  
  56.  
  57.  
  58.  
  59.  
  60.  
  61.  
  62.  
  63.  
  64.  
  65.  
  66.  
  67.  
  68.  
  69.  
  70.  
  71.  
  72.  
  73.  
  74.  
  75.  
  76.  
  77.  
  78.  
  79.  
  80.  
  81.  
  82.  
  83.  
  84.  
  85.  
  86.  
  87.  
  88.  
  89.  
  90.  
  91.  
  92.  
  93.  
  94.  
  95.  
  96.  
  97.  
  98.  
  99.  
  100.  
  101.  

This list will end on Thursday, 29 September 2011

2 Responses to “101 things in 1001 days”

  1. hooray! great plan! hope you keep it up! x

  2. Thanks! :) Lol – it’s all thanks to your link!


Leave a Reply

